Skip to Content

Representing the State - Management

John Sevier State Office Building

Management of the Tennessee Attorney General's Office is handled by three divisions, each having its own varying functions, including Executive, Administrative, and Office of the Solicitor General.

Executive Office

Attorney General Herbert H. Slatery III is Tennessee's chief legal officer and administrative head of the Attorney General's Office. The Attorney General is appointed to an eight-year term by the Tennessee Supreme Court pursuant to Article VI, Section 5, of the Tennessee Constitution. Attorney General Slatery was sworn in as Tennessee's 26th Attorney General on October 1, 2014.

Chief Deputy Attorney General Lucy Honey Haynes was appointed Chief Deputy in January 2008. The chief deputy coordinates and supervises the work of the office, including review of substantive work and general management of the office.

Associate Attorney General Bill Young supervises special projects, oversees legislative matters, coordinates multistate initiatives with the National Association of Attorneys General, and assists with the daily operations of the office.

Chief of Staff Leigh Ann Apple Jones is a principal contact with the Tennessee General Assembly and National Association of Attorneys General. She also works with the Chief Policy Deputy and director of communications in handling media inquiries.

Office of the Solicitor General

Solicitor General Andrée Sophia Blumstein heads the Office of the Solicitor General (OSG) and is charged by the Attorney General with supervision of the office’s appellate work. The solicitor general supervises the drafting of formal opinions before submission to the attorney general and supervises and coordinates the appellate work of the office. OSG also oversees all appellate litigation practice in the Tennessee Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Court of Criminal Appeals and the United States Supreme Court and Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Administrative Division

Deputy Ruth Thompson runs the Administrative Division, the internal support division of the office. Its responsibilities include hiring, budget and fiscal matters, purchasing, information systems, library services, personnel, facilities management, and records management.