Skip to Content

Executive Office


Ruth A. Thompson

Administrative Division: Ruth A. Thompson, Deputy

The Administrative Division is the internal support division of the office. Its responsibilities include hiring, budget and fiscal matters, purchasing, information systems, library services, personnel, facilities management, and records management.

Kathryn Behm Celauro

Bankruptcy Division: Kathryn Behm Celauro, Deputy

The Bankruptcy Division represents state agencies in bankruptcy courts across the country. Specifically, it represents the state’s interest by filing proofs of claims and administrative claims in bankruptcy cases where a state entity is owed a debt. The division also collects penalties and other debts owed to state departments and agencies.

Kevin Steiling

Civil Litigation and State Services Division: Kevin Steiling, Deputy

The Civil Litigation and State Services Division represents the state’s various educational agencies and institutions and deals with state purchasing and personnel matters. It represents the state in employment and construction litigation along with reviewing state contracts.

Civil Rights and Claims Division

The Civil Rights and Claims Division defends the State and its employees in federal civil rights actions and tort claims brought in all federal courts, state courts, and the Tennessee Claims Commission.

Cynthia E. Kinser (Mills)

Consumer Advocate and Protection Division: Cynthia E. Kinser (Mills), Deputy

The Consumer Advocate and Protection Division consists of three teams. The Consumer Protection team protects consumers and businesses from unfair and deceptive trade practices, enforces state and federal antitrust laws, and enforces the Unauthorized Practice of Law statutes. The Consumer Advocate team represents the interests of Tennessee consumers of public utilities services. The False Claims team handles non-Medicaid false claims matters.

Amy L. Tarkington

Criminal Justice Division: Amy L. Tarkington, Deputy

The Criminal Justice Division handles all appellate matters involved in procuring and defending criminal judgments in the state appellate courts. Division attorneys are responsible for interlocutory, extraordinary, direct and post-conviction appeals and for defending criminal judgments in state habeas corpus proceedings in both the trial and appellate courts.

Barry Turner

Environmental Division: Barry Turner, Deputy

The Environmental Division enforces civil environmental protection laws regarding clean air, clean water, hazardous waste, and other areas. The division also gives advice to and reviews regulations for the Department of Environment and Conservation and represents the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency.

C. Scott Jackson

Financial Division: C. Scott Jackson, Deputy

The Financial Division provides legal services for much of the State’s business-related activities such as investments of the State Treasury and the Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System. The division represents a number of agencies handling issues of government financing, banking, and insurance regulation.

Martha A. Campbell

General Civil Division: Martha A. Campbell, Deputy

The General Civil Division handles a wide variety of civil matters representing a number of state departments, boards, and agencies including the Departments of Children's Services, Human Services, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Labor and Workforce Development, Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Agriculture, Tourist Development, Veterans Affairs, and Military.

Linda A. Ross

Health Care Division: Linda A. Ross, Deputy

The Health Care Division primarily provides legal advice and representation to the Bureau of TennCare and the Department of Health and its health-related boards such as the Board of Dentistry, the Board of Medical Examiners, the Board of Nursing, and the Board of Optometry along with the Health Services Development Agency.

Jennifer L. Smith

Law Enforcement and Special Prosecutions Division: Jennifer L. Smith, Deputy

The Law Enforcement and Special Prosecutions Division handles criminal prosecutions in matters involving criminal acts by elected state judicial officials, Securities Act violations, and violations of the state's Clean Water Act and also assists local district attorneys in similar prosecutions. The division represents the state's interests in federal habeas corpus and civil forfeiture proceedings and defends state agencies, including the Department of Safety, the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, and the Alcoholic Beverage Commission, in suits for declaratory and injunctive relief.

Leslie Ann Bridges

Medicaid Fraud and Integrity Division: Leslie Ann Bridges, Deputy

The Medicaid Fraud and Integrity Division works with TennCare, the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, and the Office of Inspector General in combating medical provider fraud in the TennCare/Medicaid program.

Janet M. Kleinfelter

Public Interest Division: Janet M. Kleinfelter, Deputy

The Public Interest Division carries out the office´s statutory duty to oversee the operation of nonprofit entities on behalf of Tennesseans. The division also handles charitable oversight and charitable solicitations as well as issues involving open meetings, public records, and campaigns and elections.

Larry Teague

Real Property and Transportation Division: Larry Teague, Deputy

The Real Property and Transportation Division represents the state of Tennessee in land acquisition for all purposes. Most of the work performed by the division involves the Tennessee Department of Transportation. In addition to Nashville, the Real Property Division has regional offices in Knoxville, Chattanooga, and Jackson.

Steven A. Hart

Special Litigation Division: Steven A. Hart, Special Counsel

The Special Litigation Division handles special litigation and assists other divisions in litigation matters.

Michael A. Meyer

Special Litigation Division: Michael A. Meyer, Deputy

The Special Litigation Division handles special litigation and assists other divisions in litigation matters.

Charles L. Lewis

Tax Division: Charles L. Lewis, Deputy

The Tax Division represents the Department of Revenue in all matters related to collecting taxes. It represents a wide variety of other agencies including the Board of Professional Responsibility, the Board of Law Examiners, the Commission on Continuing Legal Education, the Tennessee Regulatory Authority, the Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System, and many of the regulatory boards of the Department of Commerce and Insurance.

John H. Sinclair, Jr.

Tobacco Enforcement Division: John H. Sinclair, Jr., Deputy

The Tobacco Enforcement Division enforces the provisions of the 1998 Master Settlement Agreement and handles other tobacco-related matters.